Pittsburgh Steelers & Football Country: Whether You Love & Understand the Game or Not, Living in Pennsylvania Will Make You Love American Football

patiricias-favorite-photo-by-barry-reeger

Update: Pittsburgh Steelers is leading halftime play: 16-7 against the Cardinals. We are having a great time out here.

Where I live, football is a religion.

steelersjersey

Here is Polamalu running. My favorites are Polamalu, Hines, and the coach, Tomlin.

Is My Team Ploughing by A. E. Housman

by A. E. Housman (1859-1936)

‘Is my team ploughing,
That I was used to drive
And hear the harness jingle
When I was man alive?’

Ay, the horses trample,
The harness jingles now;
No change though you lie under
The land you used to plough.

‘Is football playing
Along the river shore,
With lads to chase the leather,
Now I stand up no more?’

Ay, the ball is flying,
The lads play heart and soul;
The goal stands up, the keeper
Stands up to keep the goal.

‘Is my girl happy,
That I thought hard to leave,
And has she tired of weeping
As she lies down at eve?’

Ay, she lies down lightly,
She lies not down to weep:
Your girl is well contented.
Be still, my lad, and sleep.

‘Is my friend hearty,
Now I am thin and pine,
And has he found to sleep in
A better bed than mine?’

Yes, lad, I lie easy,
I lie as lads would choose;
I cheer a dead man’s sweetheart,
Never ask me whose.

Everyone in Pennsylvania is gearing up for the Super Bowl. Everyone in America is going crazy about the once a year Super Bowl.

Even I, who up until today have never got my head to understand what the game really is, how it is played for the winner to win and what the rules are have become one of the biggest fans of Pittsburgh Steelers. It took me ten years to get to understand what First Down means, and now that I know it, and know when there’s a touch down, the Pittsburgh Steelers is going to the Super Bowl game for the second time in less than three years.

I found many poems celebrating the Steelers at this site, which you might visit. The poems cannot be republished here, so you may visit and read:

http://www.thepittsburghchannel.com/nfl082/6586949/detail.html

steelers-helmet

pittsburgh-steelers474984

Below is the team that the Steelers will be beating up tomorrow. The Cardinals are going to return to Arizona with bruises and no trophy. Sorry, Cardinals.

aagl102arizona-cardinals-helmet-logo-posters

4 Responses to “Pittsburgh Steelers & Football Country: Whether You Love & Understand the Game or Not, Living in Pennsylvania Will Make You Love American Football”

  1. Football » Blog Archive » Pittsburgh Steelers & Football Country: Whether You Love … Says:

    […] Even I, who up until today have never got my head to understand what the game really is, how it is played for the winner to win and what the rules are have become one of the biggest fans of Pittsburgh Steelers. …Page 2 […]

  2. Danielle Harris Says:

    I want to shirt football pls

  3. 2010 in review « Patricia Jabbeh Wesley’s International Blog on Poetry for Peace Says:

    […] The busiest day of the year was January 12th with 272 views. The most popular post that day was Pittsburgh Steelers & Football Country: Whether You Love & Understand the Game or Not, Livin…. […]

  4. naziru yusuf Says:

    hy i like lovethsankawulo


Leave a Reply

